- The first meeting of the new Council year was held on 21 May and included confirmation of the Portfolio Holders, Chair and Vice Chair.
 Cllr Dorothy Walker was invested as Chair, Cllr David Hingley was returned as Leader.
- 2. At a recent meeting with the majority group Councillors the CEO of the Council laid out the challenging but not critical budgetary situation going forward over the period until 2029, with many financial uncertainties, particularly in relation to forthcoming changes in business rates, which are yet to be clarified. Additionally, the evolving LGR and the following subsequent devolution process will impose substantial costs on local government. He reassured councillors that his aim will be to address these challenges via system transformation, not by cutting of services.
- 3. LGR and Devo update. To date no responses has been received from Government.
- 4. CDC Housing has reminded residents about its highly regarded programme for the funding and project management of adaptations to housing for people with disabilities. These can be anything from installation of a key safe to provision of an adapted bathroom. Applications should be made to Occupational Health at OCC for assessment. Eligible applicants will be referred to Cherwell's team. The scheme is open to private and social housing residents.
- 5. Planning: Cherwell District Council's housing numbers have been reviewed and reduced and now sits below the required 5 year supply.
- 6. Botley West Solar Farm application was heard at planning and was referred to Full Council to authorise a response.
- 7. Cherwell Parish Liaison meeting is being held on 11th June, all Councillors are welcome to attend.
- 8. Cherwell Business Awards: Deadline for application has been extended to Friday, please encourage all local businesses to take part.
- 9. Election results: Local OCC representation is provided by three Councillors, Laura Gordon (North), Ian Middleton (East) and Lesley McLean (West). OCC now has a majority administration for the first time in a number of years with the LibDems sitting independently. Liz Leffman has been re-elected as Leader with Neil Fawcett as Deputy Leader.

Cllr Dorothy Walker and Cllr Lesley McLean.